Tuesday, November 10, 2009

Split Decision

The final collection of Manila Broadsides from Rope-a-Dope Press and The So and So Series. A slide show here.

Poems by: Paige Ackerson-Kiely, Elizabeth Bradfield, Lily Brown, Sommer Browning, Jennifer Firestone, Kevin Gallagher, Rauan Klassnik, Dorothea Lasky, Justin Marks, Hazel McClure, Lisa Olstein, Sarah Rosenthal, Zachary Schomburg, Janaka Stucky, James Tate, Jon Thompson, Aaron Tieger, Besty Wheeler, Dara Wier, and Mark Yakich

Prints by: Bartleby, Thomas Buildmore, Scott Chasse, Mike Dacey, Robert daVies, Tricia Gray, Vanessa Irzyk, and Carrie Siegel


A collaboration between Rope-a-Dope Press and The So and So Series, Split Decision was made by hand in an edition of twelve in the autumn of 2009. The first twelve of each of The Manila Broadsides, Volume Two, published between April and October 2008 in editions of sixty, are collected within its covers. Our thanks to all of the Manila poets and artists--especially Mike Dacey, who lent us his Vandercook.

Curator, The So and So Series: Chris Tonelli
Art Direction, The Manila Broadsides: Robert daVies
Letterpress Printing: Jeremiah Gould & Mary Walker Graham
Book Design & Production: Mary Walker Graham

Cover: Iris bookcloth; screenprint & stencil by Thomas Buildmore
Endpages: Hahnemuhle Bugra; screenprint by Robert daVies
Text: Rives BFK; handset metal type printed on a Vandercook SP20
Binding: handwaxed linen thread

[Photo Credit: Jeremiah Gould. Thanks Jeremiah! You rule.]

Monday, November 09, 2009

Voir Dire

Justin Marks is the author of A Million in Prizes (New Issues Press, April 2009). He is the founder and editor of Kitchen Press Chapbooks and lives in New York City with his wife and their infant son and daughter.

Rope-a-Dope Press, 2009. Letterpress printed in an edition of 96, with illustrations by Robert daVies. $8 includes shipping.